DOCTOR VISITS

No matter whether you like the Affordable Healthcare Act (“Obamacare”) or not, our healthcare system is screwed up.  Went to see my heart doctor yesterday.  I got there fifteen minutes early as they requested.  An hour later, I saw my doctor for five minutes.  They stack you in a long hallway of rooms for the doctor’s convenience.  Then he knocks ‘em out one by one.  Bam, bam, bam at $200 a pop.  For what?  Five minutes to tell me my blood work was good.  PLEASE!  I had already been told by the nurse weeks earlier that my blood work was good.  Why was I even there? Come on!  Unless there’s a problem, follow up appointments are just a way of increasing the bottom line.  Besides, my time is just as valuable as the doctor’s.  To make me drive to his office and wait for an hour is jut rude.  I work for a living.  (Some might disagree.) Sitting in a waiting room may give a retiree something to do that day, but I’ve got songs to write and happy hours to attend.  Doctors, our time is valuable too so get more organized and stop with the unnecessary follow up exams.  BTW, if you come to one of my shows and have a request, I’ll do it, but you can wait until my next set to hear it.  Ha!  That’ll teach ‘em!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.